Selfcare: Why it’s important

I’ve been ill for a while now, and I’m still only just getting to grasps with selfcare. ‘Selfcare?’ I hear you say. ‘What’s that, I look after myself all the time don’t I?’ But do you? It’s hard to make time for yourself in this busy world we all live in. Between work, relationships, and endless social media it’s hard to get swept away. I know I did. I know I do.

Life gets overwhelming, and it’s easy to forget. You automatically remember to eat, get dressed, go shopping, but what about the other things? When was the last time you did something for yourself, just you. And remember, it has to be something fun, or something that helped you to relax!

It can be hard to take a breather, to take time out from the everyday, especially if you’re a spoonie. Self-care doesn’t have to be something expensive, or time consuming, it’s just there to remind yourself than you are the most important person in your life. It sounds selfish, I know, but you cant take care of others without taking yourself first.

I know that more than most. My personality has always meant that I give up my life in order to help friends first. I forgot about myself, and that lead to my big anxiety meltdown. I was too focused on others. Gosh, I sound so preachy, I swear it’s not intended!

I try to take a couple of minutes per day to practice self-care, normally in the form of meditation. But if that’s not your cup of tea, self-care can be pretty much anything! I also try to block out Sunday evenings to look after myself, and my favourite way is by having a pamer evening. I always try to cook a proper dinner, have a cup of tea, stick on a movie and… relax! I put on my favourite facemask (Lush’s ‘Mask of Magnamity’) and give myself a manicure and pedicure. Sure, it’s not the most exciting of nights, but it helps me to block out things I’m anxious about and to think about something other than Uni.

The most important thing is to find something that works for you. It can be trial and error sure, but everyone’s different arent they. If I’m lucky and have managed to save some spoons I head into Manchester City Centre to sit in some quirky cafes, and if photography is what I need to clear my head my other favourite haunt is Salford Quays.

Tell me in the comments what works for you!

Nikii xxx

 

 

Leave a Reply

